

List of participants

ITALY (Presidency): Maria Cristina Messa, Minister for Universities and Research SAUDI ARABIA: (outgoing Presidency) Hamad Al-Sheikh, Minister of Education INDONESIA: (incoming Presidency) Laksana Tri-Hankodo, Chariman National Research and Innovation Agency **ARGENTINA:** Diego **Hurtado**, Vice Minister Science, Technology and Innovation AUSTRALIA: Margaret Twomey, Ambassador to Italy, San Marino, Albania and Libya BRAZIL: Marcos Pontes, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation CANADA: Mona Nemer, Chief Science Advisor to Canada's Prime Minister CHINA: Fuzhi Zheng, Vice Minister of Education **EUROPEAN UNION:** Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Education, **Culture and Youth** FRANCE: Christian Masset, Ambassador to Italy GERMANY: Wolf-Dieter Lucas, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research INDIA: Mr Subhas Sarkar, Minister of State for Education JAPAN: HAGIUDA Koichi, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology; **INOUE** Shinji, Minister of State for Science and Technology; MEXICO: María Elena Álvarez-Buylla Roces, Director, National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT) **REPUBLIC OF KOREA:** Hyesook Lim, Minister of Science and ICT **RUSSIAN FEDERATION:** Aleksander Narukavnikov, Deputy Minister of Science and Higher Education SOUTH AFRICA: Bonginkosi Emmanuel "Blade" Nzimande, Minister of Higher Education, Science and Innovation **TURKEY:** Mustafa Varank, Minister of Industry and Technology UNITED KINGDOM: Michelle Donelan, Universities Minister (THE) NETHERLANDS: Marcelis Boereboom, Vice Minister responsible for Higher Education, Research and Science SINGAPORE: (remotely) Chun Sing Chan, Minister of Education SPAIN: Luis Cerdán Ortiz-Quintana, UnderSecretary for Universities **UNITED STATES:** Eric Lander, Science Advisor to the President/Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy



AU (Congo): José Mpanda Kabangu, Minister of Scientific Research and Technology Innovation

ASEAN (Brunei): Awang Haji Hamzah Haji Sulaiman, Minister of Education
NEPAD (Rwanda): Valentine Uwamariya, Minister of Education
OECD: Ulrik Vestergaard Knudsen, Deputy Secretary General
UNESCO: Stefania Giannini, Assistant Director General